Best Books of the 21st Century: An infographic

I saw this flowchart originally posted on Upworthy in an article discussing how, typically, only “old” and generally-agreed-upon-classics are considered as mandatory readings in school. It’s true, but I was lucky enough to have had great English teachers that exposed me to a myriad of literary genres (we didn’t only read Shakespeare, not that there’s anything wrong with Shakespeare…it’s just that most high school courses seem to butcher it). I’m always surprised when people are surprised by my love of all kinds of books, fiction, historical, sci-fi, fantasy, and non-fiction alike.

Anyhoo, I found this chart great for suggestions for future reads! I have read some of the books on here, and I’m really happy to see books like The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time, A Thousand Splendid Suns, and BLink make this list. I do kinda wish they had put more than just one suggestion for historical literary fiction, but it’s just one flowchart… I’m sure some people will disagree with some of the selections, but with books, there’s something for everyone! Enjoy.

Best Books

Brought to you by USC Rossier’s masters of art in teaching

 

Leave a Reply

